Thursday, January 19, 2012

Missouri Education Commissioner Recognizes Role of State Board

Education Commissioner Recognizes Role of State Board

Jan 22-28 is School Board Recognition Week

Commissioner of Education Chris L. Nicastro today recognized the State Board of Education for its commitment to public schools in Missouri.

The State Board is responsible for a wide range of programs from preschool to adult education.

Nicastro's remarks precede Missouri School Board Recognition Week January 22-28, when communities and schools across the state recognize the contributions of school board members.

"Good governance is essential to public education, and that extends to our State Board of Education," Nicastro said. "State Board members are called upon to deal with a multitude of issues affecting schools throughout the state, and they work together diligently to decide what is best for the children of Missouri."

Board members are appointed by the governor to serve staggered, eight-year terms. No more than four members can be of the same political party, and no more than one member can live in the same county or congressional district.

"Our Board members — with their varied backgrounds and experiences — bring a wealth of knowledge to Missouri's public school system," Nicastro said.

The Board is responsible for setting policies for the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, defining academic standards and assessment requirements for public schools, and accrediting local school districts.

The Board also sets standards and approves courses and professional programs for teachers and school administrators at Missouri's public and private higher education institutions.

Current members of the State Board of Education are:

Peter F. Herschend, Branson, president
Rev. Stan Archie, Kansas City, vice-president
Deborah L. Demien, Wentzville
Michael W. Jones, St. Louis
J. Michael Ponder, Cape Girardeau
Sybl Slaughter, Lebanon
Russell C. Still, Columbia

No comments: